Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Lackford Hundred

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Lackford Hundred

"LACKFORD, a hundred in the NW of Suffolk, contiguous to Norfolk and to Cambridgeshire; and containing Brandon parish, sixteen other parishes, and part of another. Acres, 77,025. Pop. in 1851, 16,321; in 1861, 15,077. Houses, 3,216."

(From John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72).)

Civil Registration

In 1836, White's Description of the Poor Law Unions and Registration Districts shows this Hundred to be served by the Registration Districts of Newmarket and Thetford.

NEWMARKET RD in 1836 - 17 parishes comprising the two parishes of Newmarket :- All Saints which is in Cheveley Hundred, Cambridgeshire and St. Mary's which is in Lackford Hundred, Suffolk, plus the 6 parishes of Dalham, Gazeley, Lidgate, Moulton, Ousden and Exning which are in Suffolk together with the 21 parishes of Ashley, Burrough Green, Bottisham, Brinkley, Burwell, Cheveley, Chippenham, Dullingham, Fordham, Isleham, Kennet, Kirtling, Lanwade, Soham, Snailwell, Stretchworth, Swaffham Prior, Swaffham Bulbeck, Westley, Wicken, and Wood-Ditton all in Cambridgeshire.

THETFORD 34 parishes comprising the 3 parishes of Thetford, namely St. Peters, St. Cuthberts and St Marys, Kilverstone, Croxton, East Wretham, West Wretham, Brettenham, Rushford, Hethwold, Northwold, Santon, Hockwold-cum-Wilton, Feltwell, Mundford, Lynford, West Tofts, Sturston, Cranwich, and Weeting-cum-Broomhill all in Norfolk. Also the parishes of Santon Downham, Brandon, Barnham, Fakenham-Magna, Euston, Honnington, Sapiston, Coney Weston, Barningham, Weston Market, Hepworth, Thelnetham, Hopton and Knettishall in Blackbourn and Lackford Hundreds in Suffolk. Thetford Union is divided into 2 sub-districts :- Thetford and Methwold.

Historical Geography

See A Vision of Britain for a description of Lackford through time.

Poor Houses, Poor Law

The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Thingoe Workhouse which served Lackford.