Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Aghavallen

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.


Primary tabs

"AGHAVALLIN, or AGHAVALAH, a parish, in the barony of IRAGHTICONNOR, county of KERRY, and province of MUNSTER, 4½ miles (W. S. W.) from Tarbert; containing with the town of Ballylongford and the island of Carrigue, 5688 inhabitants. This place anciently belonged to the O'Connors of Kerry, whose principal seat, Castle Carrig-a-foile, signifying in the Irish language the rock of the chasm, was situated on the south-west side of the inlet between the mainland and the small island of Carrigue, which is encircled by the river Shannon.
The parish is situated on the river Shannon, and within a mile and a half of the high road from Tralee to Limerick, and comprises 15,152 statute acres, as apploted under the tithe act."
[From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland by Samuel Lewis (1837)]



The two old burial grounds of the parish are located at Aghavallen, around the ruins of the old parish church, and at Lislaughtin at the site of the old abbey.



Note: The Civil Parish of Aghavallen ceased to be used for census purposes in the mid nineteenth century when District Electoral Divisions (DEDs) were introduced.

Aghavallen comprises the entire DEDs of:

  • Astee (Astee East and West, Ballynoneen, Carrigane, Cloonaman, Curraghderrig, Glanawillin, Kilcolman, Killeton, Kylatallin, Larha, Letter, Sliss townlands)
  • Carrig (Aghanagran Lower; Middle and Upper, Carrig Island, Carrigafoyle, Gortard, Martara, Rusheen, Rusheen Park townlands. This DED also includes most of Ballylongford town.
  • Lislaughtin (Ballyline East and West, Ballymacasy, Bunnaruddee, Coolnagraigue, Dromalivaun, Gurteenacloona, Leanamore, Lislaughtin, Shrone townlands. The DED also includes the Will Road and Main Street areas of Ballylongford Town.

and part of

  • Lisselton DED (Tullahennel North and South townlands),
  • Kerry County Library, Tralee has the 1901 Census on microfilm.
  • The Family History Library of the Church of the Jesus Christ of Latter Day saints also has the 1901 and 1911 census on microfilm.
    The films should be available from one of the church's Family History Centers. You can locate the nearest to you by searching at
    The relevant films are:
    1901 Census Astee DED FHL British Film 838575 Item 2
    1901 Census Carrig DED FHL British Film 838575 Item 2
    1901 Census Lislaughtin DED FHL British Film 838576 Item 1
    1901 Census Lisselton Rural DED FHL British Film 838576 Item 2
    1911 Census Astee DED FHL British Film 2146908 Item 2
    1911 Census Carrig DED FHL British Films 2146936 Item 1
    1911 Census Lislaughtin DED FHL British Film 2146936 Item 3, 2146937 Item 1, 2193352 Item 3
    1911 Census Lisselton DED FHL British Film 2146937 Item 2

Church History

In the Church of Ireland, the parish of Aghavallen has been united with other parishes since the seventeenth century. The old church continued in use into the nineteenth century, and was rebuilt in 1840, but is now in ruins. In 1878 the parish was merged with Listowel. The nearest Church of Ireland church is now in Tarbert (Kilnaughtin Church), administered from Rathkeale in County Limerick.

In the Roman Catholic chuch, Aghavallen was united to Kilnaughten from at least the beginning of the eighteenth century. In 1859, the parishes were again seperated, but under the modern names of Ballylongford and Tarbert. The Roman Catholic parish of Ballylongford is identical with the old parish of Aghavallen.
A second church in the parish has been built at Asdee.


Church Records

The Church of Ireland Parish registers for Aghavallen record baptisms from 1872 and marriages from 1811.

The Roman Catholic parish registers for Aghavallen and Kilnaughten have their earliest records from 1823 (baptisms) and 1826 (marriages). Births from 1838 to 1869 are missing. From 1859 the parish became known as Ballylongford.
The registers remain in the custody of the parish priest, although microfilm copies are at the National Archives of Ireland. Written permission from the Bishop of Kerry is required to view these records.


Civil Registration

From 1863 Aghavallen was part of the Listowel Registration District. See the Registration Districts page.
The District Electoral Divisions listed above are used for Registration purposes.

  • Births in Listowel Registration District in 1875 and 1877

Description and Travel


You can see pictures of Aghavallen which are provided by:



Ask for a calculation of the distance from Aghavallen to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.





Land and Property

The Primary Valuation of Ireland, also known as  Griffith's Valuation was carried out between 1848 and 1864. It provides  detailed information on tenants and landlords and is valuable as a census substitute. In the case of County Kerry the valuation was carried out in 1851-52.
The valuation is searchable online at the Ask About Ireland website. Search results for the parish of Aghavallen can be found at this link.