Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Aglish

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.


Primary tabs

"AGLISH, a parish in the barony of MAGUNIHY, county of KERRY, and province of MUNSTER, 4 miles (S. E.) from Milltown, on the north-east side of the river Laune, and on the road from Killarney to Milltown; containing 1,091 inhabitants. It comprises 4,924 statute acres, as applotted under the tithes act."
[From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland by Samuel Lewis (1837)]



The parish burial ground surrounds the ruins of the ancient parish church of Aglish. Grid Reference: V 907 972.



Note: The Civil Parish of Aglish ceased to be used for census purposes in the mid nineteenth century when District Electoral Divisions (DEDs) were introduced.

Aglish is now contained in parts of five DEDs:

  • Aghadoe DED (Barleymount East; Middle and West, Racomane East and West townlands and part of Aghadoe parish)
  • Aglish DED (Aglish, Ballytrasna, Coolbane, Coolroe East and West, Flintfield, Laharan, Seersha, Trippeenagh townlands - and part of Kilbonane parish)
  • Ballyhar DED (Aghalee Beg, Droomdoohig Beg, Sheans East and West townlands - and parts of Kilcredane and Aghadoe parishes)
  • Lahard DED (Doonkinane townland)
  • Rockfield DED (Acres, Ballinillane, Ballybrack, Ballynacarrig East and West, Boolasallagh townlands)

Church History

The Church of Ireland had a parish church built in 1823 next to the ruins of the ancient church in the parish burial ground. This was abandoned in 1871, when the parish was united to Kilcolman.

The united Roman Catholic parish of Molahiffe and Aglish (which also includes Kilninare and Kilcredane) has been in existence since the early nineteenth century. Around the year 1872 the parish was renamed Firies. A church was built at Ballyhar - sometimes called Aglish church. The other church in the parish is at Firies and has someimes been called Molahiffe.


Church Records

The Church of Ireland parish registers are lost

The Firies (originally Molahiffe and Aglish) Catholic Registers start in 1830 for both marriages and baptisms, but are in in poor condition with pages missing.
The registers remain in the custody of the parish priest, although microfilm copies are at the National Archives of Ireland. Written permission from the Bishop of Kerry is required to view these records.


Civil Registration

From 1863 Aglish was part of the Killarney Registration District. See the Registration Districts page.
The District Electoral Divisions listed above are used for civil registration.


Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Aglish which are provided by:



The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Aglish to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

Historical Geography

The civil parish of Aglish contained the following townlands: